top of page

Bittersweet

So just like that... 18 months come and gone. I can’t help but feel like I’m right back where I started... butterflies in my stomach, excited and anxious for what the future brings. Tears in my eyes as I say goodbye to the people and home I have come to love so dearly. But this time will be different. Because I am different. Stronger now. More confident. I have learned to trust myself and my God. I’ve made my fair share of mistakes along the way. More than I care to admit. But the Lord and his grace have helped me overcome them, learn and move on. I wish I could say I was perfect now, but I am far from it. But I guess I am okay with that for now, for my journey is just beginning. In the coming days I’ll go back to old routines. I’ll eat less rice, I’ll throw aside the skirts and try to squeeze into old pants, Hermana will be replaced with just Kate. And although I may no longer wear his name on my chest, it is now forever engraven on my heart. For he has been my light amidst the darkness, my calm among the storms and my salvation from sin and from sorrow. Though my mortal eyes have not beheld him, my soul rejoices in proclaiming that he lives. That on that spring morning of 1820, he appeared before the humble boy Joseph. That through him, his church has been restored. His authority is on the earth, once more. The gates of heaven have been unlocked and by his power what is bound on earth may be forever bound in heaven. Through his power all things in the heavens and on the earth were created. And his servant Thomas S Monson administers this very power, with which sickness may be healed, sins washed clean and families sealed for the eternities. For I know that that is his plan. The evidence of these truths, lies within the Book of Mormon. Another Testament of Jesus Christ. It truly testifies of his light, his life and his love. I love the Book of Mormon. I love it.

I have been given a priceless gift in serving a mission. I have come to learn to listen to the Spirit, I have some to know my Savior. And thanks to him, I have been changed. It has not been easy. I cannot say that there was not difficult day on my mission. But the hard has made me stronger. He has taken the mess that I was and has made me more humble, more patient, more loving. Because of that I do not fear what lies ahead. He has carried me through 18 months of pain and joy, of faith and doubt, of heartbreak and healing. And he surely will be at my side for all that lies ahead. He will guide my steps as I make my way back to his presence once again. He is my Savior, my Redeemer, my Light, my brother, my best friend. Thank you to all who have been a support to me in these past months. I couldn’t have done it without your love and prayers. See you soon! Love, Hermana Anderson


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page