top of page

HAPPY PIE EATING DAAAAY!!!

The latest news here in Callao

my last companion....

drum roll please

straight from missionary factory (Utah)

with a mix of Mexico and Guatemala....

HERMANA HUERTA.

She’s fantastic.

5 months in the mission today.

I feel blessed to have her.

Monday

We spent the day in the offices

and I spent the night with Hermana Scarlett and her companion.

Tuesday

I found my new better half,

Hermana Huerta

a real trooper

with a heart of real gold.

The mission is an interesting experience.

We were knocking some doors and looking for some potential investigators

and a big black man opened the door.

We started talking to him a bit

I’ll be honest, he kinda scared me at first so I was trying to end it...

but then he surprised me by saying that he wanted to learn more about God.

I was still a little hesitant...

(sorry, it’s just that there are a lot of men in the street that yell and mock...).

He had three tattooed teardrops,

but then I saw that they were joined by real tears...

He said he wanted to change his life.

He had been fighting with his wife

and he knows it’s his fault

and he wants to change.

He has four sons.

He wants to be better for them

but he doesn’t know how

and sometimes he thinks about just giving up.

He thinks about ending his life.

He looks at his feet ashamed

I tell him with all the power of my heart

I know that he can change, I know that he can be healed .

He looks at me,

I stare him straight in his eyes

(men don’t scare me anymore)

and tell him because I know,

God loves you

He has a plan for you

if you choose to accept the Atonement of Jesus Christ you can leave it all behind.

We are not here to suffer but to have joy.

Then he begs that we come back the next day.

We haven’t been able to find him since.

I learned from dad this week

that we can’t measure our influence.

God uses us as an instrument in his hands.

I don’t know if we will find him again,

but we planted a seed

and it may grow

and one day he will find the path.

Wednesday

I dont understand my notes from this day...

it says "time is mocking me"

Who knows?

Thursday

We had our Christmas training

and let me just tell you

I AM SO EXCITED!

I was a little bummed when I first found out I would be heading home just 2 days after Christmas,

but now I realize

IT COULDNT BE ANY MORE PERFECT! I am so excited to spend my last weeks remembering the Savior in this special time.

It’s going to be great

more details to come...

Friday

The highlight of the week: P. IS GETTING BAPTIZED SATURDAY!

Wooooo

Usually everyone I’ve taught gets baptized the week after I leave the sector...

but since I’m in the same zone, I get to gooooo.

It really has been such a journey with him.

He is a true testimony to me of how the Atonement can change and heal even the most broken of hearts and lives.

No amount of time in the mission every makes it easier.

But I feel so BLESSED

for everything.

My heart almost literally swells.

I can’t describe it,

but I just feel so darn blessed

and grateful

and wow.

It’s amazing.

HIS gospel. HIS church. HIS plan is PERFECT.

I love you all.

Thank you for your support and love.

Until next week,

Hermana Anderson

AND THIS YEAR I'M THANKFUL FOR 1. my family

2. the restored gospel of Jesus Christ

3. nature

4. sweets

5. my mission


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page