top of page

Alo

I’d like to start this by saying a mission is a hard thing and anyone who tells you differently is smoking something or selling something, however the saying goes. Sometimes you go days without teaching an investigator. Sometimes you walk so much your feet bleed (that’s an exaggeration, that hasn’t happened to me, yet.) And yes sometimes, I guess, your brother even gets engaged and nobody tells you, even though he’s been apparently planning hard core since November. But hey, I know just as well as the next guy (or gal) that humans are not perfect and sometimes you forget to tell your missionary sisters things like that. So yeah missions are hard. But you learn to put on your big girl pants (or skirt), suck it up and say CONGRATS Sammer! You guys are so cute it makes me sick.

P.S. I’ll beat you up in 18 months

P.S.S. I forget nothing

MONDAY: We had a P-day with all the hermanas of the mission. We all went to eat some good ol Pollo al a brasa (rotisserie chicken). Had a lesson with the niece of my aunt and uncle back in Santa Cruz (the Andersons). I guess that makes her my cousin ;)

TUESDAY: Zone meeting. Nothing extraordinary to report there. Lunch was a little rough. Our soup had this giant chunk of some part of the animal, kidney or heart or stomach or all of the above. Point of the story, I couldn’t do it. It was too big and too hard. And I’m still having nightmares. First time I’ve never been able to.

We found an old investigator that we had been looking for. I was looking through the records and found her, but it didn’t say why they stopped visiting her. So we decided to find her. She was great. She told us her whole story, how the elders had helped her in the hardest time of her life (the death of her mom) and was very excited to see us. She said that when I called her, her heart just jumped and everything around her disappeared. She said everyone probably thought she was crazy. (It’s nice to know that not everyone dreads hearing my voice or seeing me at the door. Jk) But the missionaries have a very special place in her heart. We shared the Restoration. She remembered a lot and even said she knows the Book of Mormon is true. Her only hesitation is that the one time she went to church, she noticed that the members were very irreverent in sacrament meeting (on their cell phones the whole meeting) and if this is the true church, why aren’t the members paying attention? She made a good point. I never really thought about that before but she accepted a fecha [date] for the 19th!

Our last appointment was with this woman J., who is catholic. I don’t know why everyone needs to tell us that. It’s an excuse for everything really. She’s sweet. Her son was more interested, but of course lives outside our sector.

It was a really good, full day. The best kinda day.

WEDNESDAY: World Wide Missionary Broadcast. I was sitting there watching the introduction that showed all these missionaries and I was like, “Woah, sweet, look at all those missionaries.” And then I was like, “Wait, I’m one of them.” It’s crazy that I get to be part of such and amazing work with so many missionaries around the world.

Remember that nasty meal my first pensionista used to make? Yeah, we had that for lunch. Whoever said that Peru has the best food in SA is crazy.

We visited P. again. (Hermana Sanchez is convinced she’s a witch because her feet are green. Speaking of which, Hna Sanchez’ uncle is a witch hunter. Kid you not. Latino culture is interesting.) The lesson was frustrating. I’ve decided that she has some sort of a learning handicap.

We also visited our friend F. The people here love the missionaries and try to spoil us. I’ve received a paneton, magnets, Christmas ornaments, a necklace, all sorts of goodies. But never a bar of soap. That is, until F. I’m not sure if she was trying to tell me something, or what. But I try to shower at least once a week. ;) She gave Hna Sanchez a mini roll of toilet paper. But I guess it is more practical than a magnet.

THURSDAY: We had a lesson with Hermana V. She’s got a lot of faith and a lot of pain. At the end of the lesson she looked at each of us and said, “Thank you for serving a mission. You have no idea how much I needed you now and how much you have helped.” Oh how I needed to hear that. Makes it all completely worth it.

FRIDAY: Had my interview with President. He and Hermana are so great. Really. He laughed when I told him about how no one told me Sam was engaged. You mock my pain!

Best part of having a Latina companion is teaching her phrases in English. Phrase of the week: “That’s what I’m talking about.” Kills me every time.

SATURDAY: A day on my mission that I probably won’t remember. Most of our plans fell through. I don’t know what’s going to happen next week but it’s gonna be a rough week. We did eat at my second favorite place in Peru, Papa Juans.

SUNDAY: Highlight of the day (and possibly my life) a little girl whispered to her mom that I speak lovely. Visited F. She gave us CDs, which I can’t do anything with. Had stake conference (my 3rd in six months) with a fantastic choir. Which was amazing in and of itself. It was very refreshing. Like a mini Spanish Motab.

This week has been a good week. I’m learning. I’m growing and every day I feel grateful for the opportunity to represent my Savior Jesus Christ and carry his gospel of joy to my Peruvian brothers and sisters. (Whether or not they want to listen to me.) :)

I love you all! I love my family. I love this gospel. And I love my Savior.

Love,

Hermana Anderson

“And Jesus said unto them: Pray on; nevertheless they did not cease to pray” 3 Nephi 19:26 How grateful I am to know our prayers are always answered.


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page