top of page

Feliz Navidad!


MONDAY: Pretty chill. Hermana Fallas and I just laid in bed all afternoon while Hermana Bird was taking a shower. I was telling her all my knock knock jokes and taught her what a wet Willie is. Yes, I’m fine. P-day well spent. Hermana Bird’s mom sent us stockings so I also ate too much candy :)

TUESDAY: We survived CAMBIOS. Everyone was very surprised (except us, or course) because trios never last. It seems we’ve done the impossible. :)

Our pensionista, the sweetest woman, was talking to us about her life and everything. She’s been a strong church member for 35 years. She hasn’t been to church for a few months because the doctor told her she can’t leave her house. And nobody has called her or visited her, no visiting teachers or home teachers, and she told us, with tears in her eyes, that she feels abandoned by the church.

And then I thought for a moment about what it means to be a member of this church and how often in the craziness of everyday life do we forget what’s really important or how often we jump to conclusions when we don’t see someone at church.

You never know how much a phone call or a visit could mean to someone. Thirty minutes of your time could mean the world to someone else. I realize I am far from perfect, it is even easier to see that now. There’s a lot more I could have done and can still do, but of this I am sure. When we forget ourselves, look outside and serve, we find true happiness. I realize this sounds like a typical missionary lecture, but I would like to challenge all of you to think of someone you can reach out to, someone whose day you can brighten and serve them. What better time to devote ourselves to Christ like service than Christmas. And who knows, you could very well be the answer to someone’s prayer.

WEDNESDAY: We went caroling with the elders. It was a really cool experience which consisted of several old women crying. It’s amazing how people’s hearts are softened this time of year. We didn’t get to visit as many as we had hoped because everyone insisted on us coming in and this and that. But it was really neat.

THURSDAY: We had a lesson with J. and this time the JWs walked in on us. Ha. But it’s crazy how now that they realized this they have changed their teachings from JW to anti-Mormon. And J. is just this little old man who doesn’t have the heart to turn anyone away. We’ll see.

FRIDAY: We had some first world strugs. I don’t really know what to call it because technically were still in a third world country but the electricity was out in our apartment building which means the elevator didn’t work. (I can assure you we are the only apartment in the mission with an elevator.) So we had to climb the seven stories to our penthouse sweet. :) It’s crazy that I have to come to Peru to have my very own bathroom for the first time in my life.

We had the ward Christmas party. There were quite a few non-members there which was great, except members didn’t start showing up for more than an hour after it was supposed to start. But it was good. We had to leave before we turned into pumpkins but not before our special musical number and my surprise piano accompaniment. Thanks Sister Kunz!

SATURDAY: We visited this woman D. who just adores us (the one that skipped her grandson’s birthday party). Well she told us how she’d been praying and praying the night before that we would stay together and it was such a miracle to see us all three together. “Oh my, tres hermanas, ohh.”

The stake had a baptism night where 4 or 5 investigators got baptized. The baptism was supposed to start at 5 and they asked that we were there 30 minutes before. So all the missionaries and investigators show up on time and wait until about 5:20 before anyone from the stake showed up with the keys to open it, which then of course meant that the font had to be filled. Needless to say, we started late. Are you starting to see a pattern here? It’s a real blast :)

SUNDAY: I’m just going to skip this day because it was a little rough, one of those days where nobody is home. Like plan “D” is not even home. But that’s always a blast but such is life.

Bueno. I’m so excited for this Christmas to be able to see my favorite family! (especially Jacob who I don’t recognize).

But at this wonderful Christmas time I wanted to share my testimony of him who makes it all possible. The Savior lives! He descended below all things so that he may know how to lift us above all things. The Atonement is real and his grace is sufficient.

As I have said before, I thought by my coming on a mission, I could in some small way repay Him for all he did for me, but instead I am finding myself even more in debt as I realize even more how his life has and continues to change mine.

I love my Savior and I love this gospel and I love you all.

I hope you have an amazing Christmas!

Love,

Hermana Anderson

Alma 7: 10-12

Christmas.mormon.org


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page