top of page

A whole new world

From San Miguel to Santa Cruz

MONDAY: We went to the zoo. All the animals were sleeping. I guess they have p-day too. The zoo consisted of llamas, monkeys, parrots, a giraffe and more llamas and a couple more llamas.

We had a cita with a Hermana, but when we got there the JW (Jehovah Witnesses) were at her door so we just casually got in line. They finished and she let us in. Take that!

We all got quite the surprise to learn that I would be leaving San Miguel. A couple of weeks ago I had really wanted to leave. I just wanted a fresh start, but felt that I would stay to learn how to take care of the sector. I was then convinced I was staying. Good thing I didn’t put money on it. So I packed up without saying goodbye to hardly anyone. That was a little sad.

TUESDAY: Reunion de cam bios. I was very stressed. That is a lot weighing on just one hour. But long story short I am now in Santa Cruz de Limatambo with Hermana Fallas AND Hermana Bird.

They’ve been together for the last two cambios so I’m just joining the pack. Hermana Bird is from Utah and has about 10 months in the field. Hermana Fallas (is) from Costa Rica. She entered the field the same day as me. She speaks both English and Spanish perfectly.

They’re both a lot of fun so I’m excited.

Some info about Santa Cruz: it is the largest, safest, richest, most English speaking sector. And Limatambo was the first stake in Peru. Fun fact – the President lives in our sector as does the president of Lima East and South. Apparently we can have FHE in their house and we share the ward with two elders (which is rare) and the APs. So we’ve basically got a whole task force.

WEDNESDAY: You’re going to be upset with me for this email, but I’m struggling to separate anything, it’s all so new and so not at the same time. Oh! Tuesday night we ate anti cuchos. It’s a pretty big deal here. What is it you may say? Well I’m glad you asked. It’s cow heart. Yes. It was very hard to convince myself to do it. But it wasn’t too bad; if you don’t think too much about it. I would eat it again.

I’m pretty sure we had more lessons in one day than we did in a week in San Miguel. It’s weird to think that was just a chapter in my mission and now it’s just over, never to see those people again. Better not to think too much. It’s crazy to think the Lord trusts these kids to do His work when you meet with such a variety of people all with such different problems, different lives, but with one common necessity, the gospel.

There’s this convert who was baptized about a week ago. She’s 18 and has a 5 year old daughter and was a prostitute about two weeks ago. She’s trying to get into med school, but now has no source of income. And it’s like holy smokes how do we even help these people!? It’s incredible.

THURSDAY: We were able to find a tres leche we could afford. Thank goodness. I thought I was going to go in withdrawals or something. I don’t know what I’m going to do here. San Miguel had bakeries right and left, but everything here is dang expensive. But it ended up being a better deal just to buy the whole cake, so we did and it was dang good. But I feel like a week ago I was in a different country. Everything here is so nice. Like I’ve never seen anything like it.

FRIDAY: We walked forever. I thought my last sector was big, holy tamole. It doesn’t compare. It takes an eternity to walk from one side to the other. But it was cool because we saw like the homes of the ambassadors from all these different countries. Beautiful. We found these neighborhoods that’d give Bloomfield Village a run for its money (no pun intended). The problem is though that everything has that little intercom thing so it’s a lot easier to say “no” to a voice than a person. And if we do find someone, chances are it’s the maid, or the nanny, or the cook, or the dog walker. What’s the point of having a house, or kids, or a dog if you’re never going to see them?

Oh here’s an idea, if you want to get an idea of where I am, go on the church page and go to the meetinghouse thing and find the Santa Cruz ward of Limatambo and you can do the person view and walk my streets. Maybe you’ll even see me.

SATURDAY: Started the day with C. and J, a mother and son who were recently reactivated and now recently inactive again. It’s a very sad situation. But basically C., who’s had a pretty rough life, is just giving up. She feels like every time she tries she just falls again. Here’s my message, it’s never too late. There is always hope. You can always start again no matter how for you’ve strayed. The Savior is there. I wish I knew how to help people see that. It’s sad how many people give up because they feel like they’ve failed too many times. This ain’t baseball folks. (Thank goodness because I suck at baseball.) Now I’m rambling.

SUNDAY: We had stake conference. It was really great. The area seventy, Elder Mocosa spoke. Both sessions were really good. (The first however, was a little trunky.) It’s crazy how many things I took for granted, the only thing I ever remember from stake conferences is being bored out of my mind. But hey, people can change.

All 7 missionaries in our ward had lunch at a member’s house. That’s a lot of missionaries. But what I realized is that pet owners are strange. There are so many dogs that live better lives than like half the population. Okay. That’s about all I have time to say about this week. I promise I won’t be so boring next week.

But I’m happy! and looking forward to these next few weeks! Let’s make ‘em great!

I love you all. And I miss you. Thanks for all your love and support.

Love,

Hermana Anderson

One of my favorite scriptures that has really helped me on my mission – Romans 8:28 [And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.] TRUST IN THE LORD. #ponderize


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page