top of page

Two decades

MONDAY: Another restless Monday. We carved pumpkins as a zone which is the closest thing to Halloween in Peru. Then we ate pizza that tasted like cardboard.

We visited familia G. I’m sure I’ve mentioned them, but I can’t remember, Y. and her family. It’s such an interesting situation really. M. (the dad) loves us. He is so happy to have us over. Everything. He’s so ready. But unfortunately is not married. Errggh.

Something interesting, Peruvians don’t “make faces”. They just get the biggest kick out of it if I make a face. I thought it was normal. They say, “Some people talk with their eyes, you talk with your whole face!”

I really am a freak out here.

TUESDAY: I’m starting to feel like the pioneer children who walked and walked and walked aaand waaalked.

We ran into Y. who was stressing out about some English homework she had to do. She’s left at home to take care of her younger brothers , clean and do her homework. But boy does she need help! It made me appreciate even more my mom who was always there to help me succeed.

We visited S. and V. Oh my, what a lesson. They’re both some sort of crazy, two 50 year old solteros [bachelors] who have been best friends since the dawn of time. They’re harmless as a fly. S. is still set on taking us to see all the sights of Peru. And V. you would say one word, “Joseph Smith described his experience...,” “Oh I had an experience once” and he’d go off on some completely unrelated topic. But the cool part of the lesson was in the middle V.’s sister comes in. She has listened to missionaries in Spain. And she was actually really interested. It’s amazing how the Lord leads us to people. We found S. and V. from a reference from elders for J. who works for them, but never even met him. And then R. through them. And who knows if it’s her neighbor who’s the one who really is going to progress. Just gotta stay patient :).

WEDNESDAY: All of our citas [appointments] fell through in the first 10 minutes of the afternoon. We’ve had some pretty bad luck lately. Even our plans de respalda [backup plans] fell through. It’s exhausting. Somehow I survived. :) We finally found this menos [less] active we had been looking for for a couple of weeks. Turns out he’s this 14 year old boy baptized about a year ago and the only member in his family. As we were sitting there with him, for some reason he reminded me of Jacob. And I darn near just started crying. Miss that guy.

At the end of the day we had a Noche de Hogar [Family Home Evening]with this family and their two kids (+1) who are married and their kids. So there’s about 11 of them living in this tiniest of tiny rooms. They live on one of the most dangerous streets in the sector and for some reason I had my camera. So on our way I’m hiding everything (very slyly, don’t worry) into my shirt. So by the time we get there just about everything I own is tucked away. Didn’t think about the lesson that was an uncomfortable hour. And at the end, I was standing up to go, and everyone starts talking about woah! Look how tall she is! (I was about a good head taller than everyone). Woah! Look! She’s taller than the refrigerator! One of the two sons’ is trying to casually take pictures of me from the corner. Haha. My word. Felt like a circus freak. I’m not even tall at home.

THURSDAY: Such an unproductive day. It’s ridiculous. But I met the world’s strangest dog. It was this super fat chihuahua. But it couldn’t bark, it made this strange snorting sound. It sounded like a pig. And it smelled like one too. We were having a meeting with one of the members of the bishopric. Have I mentioned that I love it when people try to speak English? One wanted to know what “no boyfriend, no problem” meant. One guy just kept saying “what happened” to everything. It was a productive meeting.

FRIDAY: We spent half of forever helping elders move. We go to one of their houses and not only was nothing packed, it was a disgusting mess. I have of course heard that such is the case with elders, but my word. French fries and chicken on the floor, marbles everywhere, trash from last year. Eww.

Then our dear pensionista made me my favorite aji de gallina [chili pepper chicken] for my birthday. However instead of chicken it was just the skin. It’s the thought that counts. Visited a menos [less] active and literally kept falling asleep. Then another birthday lunch where I was also gifted 20 of the world’s greatest alfajores [pastry]. A real dream come true.

Also here in Peru they do not celebrate Halloween, apparently they have their own holiday, Dia de Cancion Criolla, which basically means they celebrate all the Peruvian traditions. The stake had an activity where all the youth did traditional Peruvian dances. Pretty cool.

SATURDAY: A strange day. A special thank you to Tanner for the wonderful package.

It was so nice to be able to read notes from people that I love and miss.

Made my day. And thank you mom. It’s just want I wanted! They’re perfect.

And then some very kind members took very good care of me. One member made me a delicious tres leche cake! Then we had lunch with another family. (They’ve been very good to me.) She made me a beautiful cake and gave me the world’s largest slice. I about died. It took me forever to finish and I kept wanting to wash it down, but of course all I had was Inka Kola. Gosh darn Peru.

Then we had to fast, so that unfortunately was the end of the festivities (probably for my own good.) We did see a few little kids dressed up going to the stores for candy. They would walk in and say, “Halloween!?” Pretty funny.

And just like that, I’m 20 or so they tell me. The day may have been a little better had I not been sick since Wednesday, but it was good, a nice day. Better than I expected :)

SUNDAY: After church we had lunch at a member’s house. Love them. Then we walked it all off for a good couple hours. Then we visited Y. and family. A great little crew. (Side note: here in Peru they eat a ridiculous sized lunch and basically bread and cheese for dinner.) So M. was very set on us joining for a little pancitas [snack], very insistent, so we agreed.

My word these Peruvians are sneaky. Sometimes I feel like Hansel and Gretel, like they’re purposefully trying to fatten me up. You think you’re safe with one, but once it’s gone, there’s no going back. Then the dreaded word “sirvense”/sandwich. And then there’s a little fight where I beg, “Oh, no, thank you, it’s delicious, I’m good, no more for me, I still have to be able to fit through the door on the way out.” “No, no, no SIRVENSE.”

Me: No.

Them: Sirvense?

Me: No gracias.

Them: (like a 5 year-old asking for ice cream from their mother) Hermana, por favor sirvense?

Me: Oh gosh dang it. “Fine, one more.”

Eat the second one and repeat.

Basically he wouldn’t let us leave until we had eaten 4 sandwiches which really wouldn’t have been so bad if we didn’t still have a Noche de Hogar and dinner after.

For dinner we went to Hermana F.’s house. She’s a really good cook and feeds us more than any human soul should consume. And she had a tres leche cake for me :)

How does everyone know? :) That makes a total of about 10 birthday meals. One year older and 20 pounds heavier.

Things have been a little slow here in San Miguel, but tomorrow are cambios [transfers] so we’ll see what the new world holds for us!

LOVE YOU ALL! Thanks for all the birthday wishes!

Love,

Hermana Anderson

Mosiah 2:41 [And moreover, I would desire that ye should consider on the blessed and happy state of those that keep the commandments of God. For behold, they are blessed in all things, both temporal and spiritual; and if they hold out faithful to the end they are received into heaven, that thereby they may dwell with God in a state of never-ending happiness. O remember, remember that these things are true; for the Lord God hath spoken it.] It is so true. I have seen it. #Ponderize.


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page