top of page

It's me again!

So I live next door to a rooster.

Alrighty Folks. So it’s about time I tell you what I am up to around here.

So I couldn’t really tell you what zone I’m in or anything. That’s probably a bad sign. But I’m serving in the San Miguel ward. There are 4 of us missionaries in that ward. Hna Roca & I are opening a new sector. Which from what I can tell is very difficult because it means we have no people, no investigators, nada. So we’re kinda scraping the bottom of the bucket to find someone to teach. Kinda frustrating. I think I just assumed since it’s South America that people would be climbing out of the woodwork to be baptized. Not the case. But this is the third sector that Hermana Roca has opened, so she must know what she’s doing.

The daily life.

We wake up, “exercise,” (can’t figure out why no one wants to, soon I won’t have clothes), eat breakfast (nuts and raisins [hey mom!], bananas [hey dad!], and on lucky days piña colada yogurt [hey gmah & gapa!]), get ready for the day. HOORAY. Got the routine down to 15 minutes.

Study Time

Lunch. We have a pensionista. She’s a member in the ward. She’s a pretty good cook, but feeds us each enough for 40 people. I told her I needed less so she gives me 4 grains less.

Walk. walk. walk. eat. walk. walk. walk. teach. walk. walk. teach. walk. walk. walk. walk. plan.

Sleep.

Repeat.

I don’t think I missed anything. That’s about it!

And the weekly run down.

MONDAY

You’ll never believe what happened next. I found Heaven! I was surprised by how small it is , but boy is it delicious. Here they call it TRES LECHE ICE CREAM. Mission accomplished. Send me home.

And then as we were walking through the store we met this very friendly woman. And she was oh so thoughtful! She even offered me her son to marry! I have a cita [appointment] with them next week. Then we had a couple FHEs [Family Home Evenings] (noches de hogar) [home nights].

And I went to bed with this new determination, to work harder, be happier, speak more. I don’t care if it doesn’t make sense. I’m tired of being mute. Nothing can happen if I don’t speak!

TUESDAY

Okay. Here’s some advice for you all. Only because I love you. If you want to do something, don’t let Satan know ‘cause he’ll do everything in his power to stop you.

From the second I woke up, all of my everything was gone. I had never felt so hopeless, lost and confused in my life. And I missed home like it was nobody’s business. It was actually quite scary. I hopped in the shower real quick. Nobody saw nothing. But I had a really hard time focusing all morning. I couldn’t breathe. (Sorry to freak you out, but I was kinda freaked out myself.) Still don’t know what happened during the night to bring that on). So I did all I know how to do and just begged for peace. And then my heart slowed a bit to 70 beats/sec (I counted). I can’t say I’m not still confused or anything. But hey. One step at a time

I feel like it’s kinda a Peter moment (Luke 22:30-32).

Satan’s trying to sift me real hard, but the Lord is there for me, and when I am more converted, I will be better able to strengthen my Peruvian brethren.

Also I had an Alice in Wonderland experience. There are tons of parks in this area and all the trees are painted white at the bottom. So for service, we painted the arboles [trees] white! The Queen of Hearts would not be happy.

And for dinner, shawarmas. They’re definitely not the same. But bien rico for sure :).

WEDNESDAY

District meeting and interviews with sister leaders. For some reason, I have a new talent that whenever I talk about my feelings, I cry. Embarrassing. I don’t know who gave it to me. It’s becoming a bad habit, though. Soon everyone's going to know I’m crazy.

For lunch we headed on down to the pensionista. Stirring my soup. Just like any other day and pop! chicken foot. Almost had a heart attack. I knew it was going to happen eventually. Yum! I was hoping it would be the dumb rooster that lives next door. But no. Quizas [maybe] next time.

Also, there may or may not be a cult meeting below us. If I wake up dead one day, that may be why.

THURSDAY

We live by this little bakery :) so we had our weekly planning, mind you, this is at 10 in the morning, over tres leche. Twice in one week? I’m doing something right. But basically I keep saying I don’t want to get fat here and all, but when I do, its 100% my fault. That and the bottomless glasses of Inca Kola they force on you.

For dinner? some good ol’ McDs. Let me tell you, McDonald’s is nasty no matter what country you’re in. At least they’re consistent.

FRIDAY

We had some training for our training with Elder Bednar [a member of the Quorum of the 12 Apostles] next week. Did I mention Elder Bednar is coming next week? Wednesday! Put it on your calendars. Then we had training for newbies. Basically don’t eat lettuce and lock your heart.

Then thanks to the wonderful planning of the secretaries (class elder) we had McDonalds for lunch. I must be sinning. Also, Big Macs are nasty. Not sure what the whole hooray is over this meat thing. If you can even call it meat.

SATURDAY

Hardly remember what happened.

We visited Hna Roca’s old ward for a tarde blanca. A bunch of baptisms in a stake on one afternoon. One of her investigators was being baptized. (1 of 12 baptisms that day). That was some good motivation.

On Saturday and Sunday we have lunch and dinner at members’ houses. They say a mission really stretches you, and it does, your stomach. You would not even believe. For lunch, the sister comes out with this big bowl of soup, and I’m like thank heavens! But no. I finish that and then comes the rice and chicken. Shoulda known, but I’m really glad I took anatomy. I certainly use it in ways I hadn’t expected. For example, the chicken throat in my soup. Who knew chickens and humans were so similar! But there were all sorts of parts I could identify in it. It was lovely. Did you know chickens have tongues! I didn’t. Until I saw it still attached and everything . For those of you who are uneducated like myself, they’re about the size of your thumb.

Peruvian bakeries. don’t even get me started. I stop at every one. Indescribable. So basically, I was full the rest of the day. But no. We had a dinner appointment. I was praying it would be small. But no. She literally walked out with a platter of food for each of us. I literally wanted to cry. I had never seen so much food on a plate at one time.

It took me, I kid you not, an entire hour to finish it. And every bit I thought I was going to throw up. Oh the pain. Oh the joy.

SUNDAY.

3 lessons today. We’re making progress! I was looking through the carpeta for a hint. For something. And I found this one sheet which barely had anything on it, but for some reason (the Spirit) I wrote the address down anyways.

We met F. today. Oh it was great. I’m really hoping this is it! And her mom was listening in and she is great too. And her daughter. Aaah.

If I saved the bones from all my meals, I could build an entire chicken. No joke. I’ve seen it all.

Driving in Lima is the scariest thing ever. Anytime I get in an automobile, I’m certain it’s the end. Especially the mototaxis. It’s like Mario Kart. They just drive wherever the heck they want. I’m really learning to value my life.

Dogs. Too many. You know what dogs do? They poo. You know where stray dogs poo? Wherever the heck they want. The math really isn’t adding up for me, but my reflexes man, on point.

We live by this little park where all the old women do their jazzercise. Boogie Wonderland and the MoTab [Mormon Tabernacle Choir] go real well together.

So basically my life’s an adventure. Right now I’m doing my best to learn from every moment and find what it is the Lord wants me to accomplish.

Boy am I grateful for this gospel and maybe in time this experience. No, I am grateful for it. I have already learned so much. I already feel like a different person.

Thank you for your support and prayers. I pray for you all too.

Be happy! The Lord loves you and I love you.

What more could you want?

Remember to say your prayers and read your scriptures. By small and simple things are great things brought to pass.

Sending all my love.

Hermana Anderson


i am a missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, preaching the gospel and bring others to Christ. i am serving in the Peru Lima Central Mission. these are my stories!  

Recent Posts

send sister kate a message!

Your message was sent successfully!

bottom of page